Results of the elections at the 29th European Gymnastics Congress in Albufeira (POR)

An important day in Albufeira (POR) today as the 50 member federations of European Gymnastics got the opportunity to elect their choice of authorities that will guide European Gymnastics through the next 3 years, instead of 4 due to the postponement of this Congress after the covid-19 pandemic. 45 nations sent their representatives thus being allowed to cast their vote.

Elected in 2017 as the 5th President for European Gymnastics, Dr. Farid Gayibov stood unopposed for reelection. All valid 44 votes ruled in his favour: “Thanks for your confidence. I’m honoured and will do my utmost for the development of gymnastics in our continent. ”

Joining him in the Presidential Board are Michel Boutard (FRA), Tom Thingvold (NOR) and Edvard Kolar (SLO) while Kineret Tzedef (ISR), Alvaro Sousa (POR), Solveig Jonsdottir (ISL), Paolo Frising (LUX), Marta Pagnini (ITA), Natalja Inno (EST) and Ciaran Gallagher (IRL) will assist the discussions and decision-making in the Executive Committee, in addition to the Technical Committee Presidents.

At the head of the Technical Committees, we welcome Mario Vukoja (CRO) for Men’s Artistic Gymnastics, Anca Grigoras (ROU) for Women’s Artistic Gymnastics, Evangelia Trikomiti (CYP) for Rhythmic Gymnastics, Babette Van Wetering (NED) for Trampoline Gymnastics, Hlif Thorgeirsdottir (ISL) for Gymnastics for All, Carine Charlier (FRA) for Acrobatic Gymnastics, Alina Dragan (ROU) for Aerobic Gymnastics and Per Sjöstrand (SWE) for TeamGym.

Let us present the 8 Technical Committees:

Men’s Technical Committee

Mario Vukoja (CRO) – President

Diego Lazzarich (ITA)

Nikolaos Provias (GRE)

Ilan Gazit (ISR)

Jean-François Blanquino (FRA)

James May (GBR)

Andrey Fedarau (BLR)


Women’s Technical Committee

Anca Grigoras (ROU) – President

Sabrina Klaesberg (GER)

Mairead Kavanagh (IRL)

Maria Cocuzza (ITA)

Orna Shai (ISR)

Christine Frauenknecht (SUI)

Fabienne Ringler (FRA)


Rhythmic Gymnastics Technical Committee

Evangelia Trikomiti (CYP) – President

Elena Aliprandi (ITA)

Yevgeniya Vilyayeva (AZE)

Hristiana Todorova (BUL)

Isabelle De Cossio (FRA)

Eliso Bedoshvili (GEO)

Alexandra Piscupescu (ROU)


Trampoline Technical Committee

Babette Van Wetering (NED) – President

Patrick Siegfried (GER)

Konrad Bojakowski (POL) 

Luis Nunes (POR)

Clive Morgan (GBR)

Andrew Coulter (IRL)

Jenny Söderlund (SWE)


Gymnastics for All Technical Committee

Hlif Thorgeirsdottir (ISL) – President

Ricardo Lima (POR)

Emiliana Polini (ITA)

Agnes Hartmann (GER)

Regina Beeler (SUI)

Ruslan Eyvazov (AZE)

Geza Mikes (SRB)


Acrobatic Gymnastics Technical Committee

Carine Charlier (FRA) – President

Juan Leon-Prados (ESP)

Nikolay Ivanov (BUL)

Melanie Sanders (GBR)

Amir Mozes (ISR)

Katarzyna Majewska-Kasprzak (POL)

Revaz Gurgenidze (RUS)


Aerobic Gymnastics Technical Committee

Alina Dragan (ROU) – President

Dimitrios Polyzos (GRE)

Monika Sipos (HUN)

Monika Maria Darone (ITA)

Dimitrina Kandeva (BUL)

Sara Moreno (ESP)

Svetlana Lukina (RUS)


TeamGym Technical Committee

Per Sjöstrand (SWE) – President

Bianca Franzoi (AUT)

Max Andersen (DEN)

Pauline Ange (FRA)

Peter Tranckle (GBR)

Inara Israfilbayova (AZE)

Heli Lemmetty (FIN)


In the Control Authorities for the next 3 years are Catalin Manu from Romania as President, continued to be assisted by Ivan Levak (SLO) and Walter Sinn (AUT). 

New this year is the election of the Medical Commission. Greece’s Odysseas Paxinos will head this Commission as President, assisted by Lubos Hrazdira (CZE), Goran Vrgoc (CRO), Gal Dubnov Raz (ISR), Filipa Fernandes (POR) and Gerald Gremion (SUI).

They will take up their role on 1st January 2023!

Congratulations to the newly elected authorities. It’s a pleasure to have you all on board, working hard to guarantee a beautiful future for European Gymnastics. We also want to take this opportunity to thank the outgoing authorities for their input and dedication over many years.

We warmly thank the Portuguese Gymnastics Federation for hosting a magnificent Congress to the highest standard as we are used from them.

The next Congress will be held in Sofia (BUL) on 1 and 2 December 2023.

December 3, 2022

Our Partners

Eurovision logoSmartScoring logo
Gymnova logoJanssen Fritsen logoSpieth logoEurotramp logoFB-Curves logo